< SPSP Main Site

2020 SPSP New Orleans Convention

Home > Preconferences > Sustainability
Location: Room TBD  |  8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Welcome to the 9th annual Sustainability Psychology Preconference! Sustainability is a major global challenge, and social-personality psychologists are contributing meaningfully to a more sustainable society. This year’s theme is “The Three Pillars of Sustainability.” In previous years, the Sustainability Preconference has focused largely on the environmental protection pillar of sustainability. This year’s theme aims to draw in more of the other two pillars: social equity and economic viability. Speakers will discuss topics such as the values and beliefs tied to each of the three pillars, how each pillar will be affected by a changing climate, and interventions to improve sustainability. Our preconference includes a keynote address, two panel sessions of invited speakers, two data blitz sessions, and a research poster session. It also includes student presenter awards, an interactive workshop, and networking time. We invite researchers and practitioners, whether newcomers or established, dabblers or conservationists, to help us learn how to think about social and personality psychology’s role in the three pillars of sustainability. We thank APA Division 34 for their support and look forward to seeing you in New Orleans!

Christian A.  Klöckner headshotKeynote Speaker
Christian A. Klöckner
Norwegian University of Science and Technology
Craig E. Colten headshotCraig E. Colten
Louisiana State University
Karen A. Hegtvedt headshotKaren A. Hegtvedt
Emory University
Neil Lewis, Jr. headshotNeil Lewis, Jr.
Cornell University
Jackson G. Lu headshotJackson G. Lu
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Matthew Motta headshotMatthew Motta
Oklahoma State University
And more speakers to come!

8:00 - 8:30 AM
8:30 - 9:30 AM
Introduction & Keynote:
Christian A. Klöckner, Norwegian University of Science and Technology
9:30 - 10:30 AM
Panel Session I
Karen A. Hegtvedt, Emory University
Neil Lewis, Cornell University
Matthew Motta, Oklahoma State University
10:30 - 10:50 AM
Coffee Break
10:50 - 11:20 AM
Data Blitz Session I
11:20 - 1:00 PM
1:00 - 2:00 PM
Panel Session II
Craig E. Colten, Louisiana State University
Jackson G. Lu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2:00 - 2:30 PM
Poster Session + Coffee
3:00 - 3:30 PM
Data Blitz Session II
3:30 - 4:15 PM
Interactive Workshop
4:15 - 4:30 PM
Student Awards Presented & Preconference Wrap-Up
4:30 PM
Preconference concludes
4:45 PM
Happy Hour (Location TBA)

Submissions for blitz talks (limited to 5 slides in 5 minutes) and poster presentations are now open. Please use the link below to submit. All submissions are due by October 31, 2019 at 11:59pm. We will present awards to the top student blitz talk and the top student poster presenter.

submit here

Organizing Committee

Current Chair: Kaitlin Raimi, University of Michigan (website)
Past Chair: Nicole Sintov, The Ohio State University (website)
Jennifer Cole, University of Colorado Boulder (website)
Ash Gillis, Pennsylvania State University (website)
Katherine Lacasse, Rhode Island College (website)
Gregg Sparkman, Stanford University (website)
Alexandra Scharmer, University of Minnesota (website)
Julia Kriegh, University of Washington; Kriegh Architecture Studio (website)
Kimberly Wolske, University of Chicago (website)
Senior Advisor: Susan Clayton, The College of Wooster (website)

Kaitlin Raimi
University of Michigan

Nicole Sintov
The Ohio State University

2020 Annual Convention
February 27-29, 2020
New Orleans, LA USA